Qualifying Schools

Schools that qualify the transfer into the Innovative School District schools are identified based on the following criteria:

  • Schools that earned an overall school performance score in the lowest five percent (5%) of all schools in the state in the prior school year and
  • Include all or part of grades K-5 and
  • Did not exceed growth in at least one of the prior three school years and did not meet growth in at least one of the prior three school years and
  • Did not adopt one of the established reform models in state statute in the immediate prior school year.



Qualifying Schools

District NameDistrict CodeSchool NameSchool CodeGrade Span
Alamance-Burlington Schools010Harvey R Newlin Elementary010354PK-05
Alamance-Burlington Schools010Hillcrest Elementary010358PK-05
Anson County Schools040Wadesboro Primary0403110K-04
Thomasville City Schools292Liberty Drive Elementary29231604-05
Duplin County Schools310Wallace Elementary310388PK-05
Durham Public Schools320Eastway Elementary320310PK-05
Durham Public Schools320Eno Valley Elementary320315PK-05
Durham Public Schools320Glenn Elementary3203200K-05
Durham Public Schools320Lakewood Elementary320339PK-05
Durham Public Schools320Fayetteville Street Elementary320344PK-05
Edgecombe County Public School330Stocks Elementary330354PK-05
Forsyth County Schools340Ashley Academy340308PK-05
Forsyth County Schools340Forest Park Elementary340376PK-05
Forsyth County Schools340Gibson Elementary340380PK-05
Forsyth County Schools340Kimberley Park Elementary340424PK-05
Forsyth County Schools340Diggs-Latham Elementary340430PK-05
Forsyth County Schools340Middle Fork Elementary340447 PK-05
Forsyth County Schools340North Hills Elementary340462PK-05
Forsyth County Schools340Old Town Elementary340476PK-05
Guilford County Schools410Ceasar Cone Elementary410349PK-05
Guilford County Schools410Gillespie Park Elementary410385PK-05
Guilford County Schools410Washington Elementary410586PK-05
Hertford County Schools460Ahoskie Elementary46030804-06
Hertford County Schools460Riverview Elementary460332PK-06
Johnston County Schools510Selma Middle School51039005-08
Lenoir County Public Schools540Northeast Elementary540325PK-05
Martin County Schools580East End Elementary580316PK-05
Martin County Schools580Edna Andrews Elementary580320PK-05
Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools600Bruns Academy6004890K-08
Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools600Walter G Byers School600574PK-08
Nash-Rocky Mount Schools640Williford Elementary640396PK-05
New Hanover County Schools650A H Snipes Academy of Arts/Des6503840K-05
Northampton County Schools660Gaston Middle66032505-08
Northampton County Schools660Willis Hare Elementary660360PK-04
Pitt County Schools740Grifton740352PK-08
Pitt County Schools740South Greenville Elementary7403900K-05
Robeson County Schools780Orrum Middle78035205-08
Robeson County Schools780R B Dean Elementary780390PK-04
Robeson County Schools780Rosenwald Elementary780394PK-04
Robeson County Schools780Southside/Ashpole Elem780408PK-05
Robeson County Schools780Townsend Middle780410 05-08
Union County Public Schools900Walter Bickett Elementary900370PK-05
Wayne County Public Schools960Brogden Middle96031205-08
Wayne County Public Schools960Brogden Primary960314PK-04
Wayne County Public Schools960Carver Heights Elementary96031803-05
Wayne County Public Schools960Eastern Wayne Elementary960329PK-05
Wilson County Schools980Margaret Hearne Elementary9803560K-05
Wilson County Schools980Vick Elementary980357PK-05


Qualifying school for the 2019-20 school year will be identified in September 2018 and posted on this page.